clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Northwestern basketball releases schedule for preseason trip to Spain

New, 11 comments
David Ramos/Getty Images

The Northwestern basketball team will take a summer trip to Spain from Aug. 22 to Sept. 1, where they will tour the country and play five exhibition games against professional teams.

According to the schedule released Tuesday, Northwestern will visit Madrid, Alicante, Valencia and Barcelona.

Saturday, August 22
Team departs for Madrid

Sunday, August 23
Team arrives in Madrid
Team practice
Welcome dinner

Monday, August 24
Tour of Madrid
Game #1 vs. Estudiantes, 1 p.m. CT
(Pabellon Fernando Martin)

Tuesday, August 25
Tour of Real Madrid Bernabeu Stadium
Game #2 vs. Eurocolegio Casvi, 1 p.m. CT
(Real Canoe)

Wednesday, August 26
Travel to Alicante

Thursday, August 27
Game #3 vs. UCAM Murcia II, 1 p.m. CT
(Pabellon Principe de Asturias; Murcia)

Friday, August 28
Travel to Barcelona
Visit bullfighting arena and museum in Valencia

Saturday, August 29
Tour of Barcelona
Northwestern University alumni event
Game #4 vs. Andorra, 1 p.m. CT
(Pavello Esportiu Municipal)

Sunday, August 30
Tour of La Sagrada Familia
Game #5 vs. US Toulouges, 1 p.m. CT
(Pavello Esportiu Municipal)

Monday, August 31
Tour of FC Barcelona stadium Camp Nou
Flamenco show
Farewell dinner

Tuesday, September 1
Team departs Barcelona, arrives in Chicago

NCAA teams get 10 practices to prepare for international trips and are allowed to go on one every four years. Northwestern last went on an international trip in 2010, when the program ventured to Italy for a tour.

Earlier Tuesday, the program revealed some customized gear for the trip with slogans like "Running of the Wildcats" and "Golpea la Roca," which translates from Spanish as "Pound the Rock," the program's slogan. The attire also features the Northwestern "N" logo that is colored in part with the red and yellow of the Spanish flag.