clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Austin Carr named Biletnikoff Award finalist

The former walk-on is joined by Dede Westbrook and Zay Jones.

NCAA Football: Wisconsin at Northwestern Caylor Arnold-USA TODAY Sports

Austin Carr has been named a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award, an annual award that since 1994 has honored the “most outstanding receiver” in college football, regardless of position.

Carr will be joined by Oklahoma’s Dede Westbrook and East Carolina’s Zay Jones.

Created and sponsored by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, the Biletnikoff has been in existence since 1994 and has been won by stars such as Randy Moss, Calvin Johnson and Amari Cooper.

Carr has reeled in 80 catches this season for 1170 yards and 12 touchdowns this year, all career highs by a wide margin. A former walk-on running back, Carr has been a revelation at the wide receiver position for the Wildcats. His 12 scores has him tied with D’Wayne Bates for the school single-season record. Pro Football Focus has sung his praises weekly.

Carr left last weekend’s game versus Minnesota after a brutal hit to the head, and Pat Fitzgerald declared him “day-to-day” on Monday.

The award will be announced Dec. 8, 2016 on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show (which runs from 6 p.m. CT to 8 p.m. CT), and if Carr wins, the formal presentation of the award will take place on Feb. 18, 2017 in Tallahassee, Florida.