clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nia Coffey named to Wade Award watchlist

The Wade Award is for the best player in all of women’s college basketball.

After three straight games with more than 28 points, Nia Coffey has been rewarded by being named to the Wade Award watchlist.

The Wade Award is women’s college basketball’s most prestigious award and is given to the best player in the nation. Despite missing two games with an injury, Coffey has carried Northwestern to three straight victories, two over Power Five teams. Coffey is averaging 23.8 points and 12.4 rebounds per game.

From the Wade Trophy website:

The Wade Trophy is named after the late, legendary Lily Margaret Wade, coach of three-time national champion Delta State University. It debuted in 1978 as the first-ever college women's basketball national player of the year award and is awarded annually to the best college women's basketball player in the country who not only excels athletically, but serves as a positive role model both on and off the court. The Wade Trophy is announced and presented with the award each year during the WBCA National Convention.

Here is the entire list: