clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Northwestern football jersey number changes: Matthew Harris, Flynn Nagel, Jordan Thompson to sport new digits

Lots of Wildcats will have new numbers next season.

Jerry Lai-USA TODAY Sports

Changing jersey numbers is not unusual, especially in college football. Often, players will have to wait for older team members to graduate before they can have the number they wanted. Maybe it was their number in high school, or their lucky number, or maybe a new number represents a fresh start. Regardless of the reason, several Northwestern players have switched up their digits for the upcoming year. Here are all the jersey number changes.

Star linebacker Anthony Walker Jr. will wear No. 1 this year. Formerly No. 18, Walker was voted to don the honorary jersey this year by his teammates.

Wide receiver Flynn Nagel has switched from No. 86 to No. 2. Nagel figures to be a key part of the offense this year in the slot if fully recovered from a season-ending ankle injury he sustained versus Minnesota.

Wide receiver Charlie Fessler has switched from No. 89 to No. 5.

Sophomore wide receiver Jelani Roberts is has switched from No. 81 to No. 6.

Reserve linebacker Brett Walsh has changed from No. 56 to No. 10. He'll share that number with backup quarterback T.J. Green, who switched from No. 11 to No. 10. Green's father, former NFL quarterback Trent Green, wore No. 10 for the majority of his pro career.

Standout cornerback Matthew Harris will play as No. 11 this season; he used to be No. 27.

Defensive back Jake Murray has switched from No. 10 to No. 14.

Superback Jayme Taylor has switched to No. 19. Taylor used to be No. 88. He missed all of last season with an ankle injury but should see a lot of playing time this year.

Vine sensation-turned-wide receiver Steven Reese has switched from No. 33 to No. 23. (NOTE: Fellow defensive back-turned-wide receiver Marcus McShepard will keep his No. 17.)

Wide receiver/running back Corey Acker will go to No. 25 after being No. 36 for his previous years.

Wide receiver Chad Hanaoka has switched from No. 83 to No. 26.

Xavier Washington has switched from No. 98 to No. 56.

Ben Oxley has switched from No. 99 to No. 75, a move corresponding to his switch from defensive line to offensive line.

Wide receiver Cole Johnson has switched from No. 43 to No. 89.

Jordan Thompson has switched from No. 95 to No. 99.