clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Justin Jackson, Godwin Igwebuike make Preseason Big Ten Honors

The senior running back is on the list once again while Igwebuike makes his debut.

New Era Pinstripe Bowl - Northwestern v Pittsburgh Photo by Adam Hunger/Getty Images

Northwestern’s star players are racking up appearances on preseason awards lists heading into the 2017 season.

The Big Ten announced its Preseason Honors on Monday at Big Ten Football Media Days with ten Big Ten players. Senior running back Justin Jackson and senior safety Godwin Igwebuike were both named to the list (even though the media sheet listed Igwebuike as “Goodwin Igwebuike”.

Here’s a full list of Honorees:

West Division:
Josey Jewell (IOWA)
Godwin Igwebuike (NU)
Justin Jackson (NU)
Jack Cichy (WIS)
Troy Fumagalli (WIS)

East Division
Tegray Scales (IND)
J.T. Barrett (OSU)
Tyquan Lewis (OSU)
Saquon Barkley (PSU)
Trace McSorley (PSU)

Northwestern joined Ohio State, Penn State, and Wisconsin as the schools with two players on the list of honorees. Justin Jackson, who made this list last year, was also named to the Walter Camp Award and Maxwell Award watch lists. Igwebuike was named to the Bednarik Award watch list for Defensive Player of the Year.