clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Northwestern releases depth chart for Week 2 vs. Duke

No major changes this week.

NCAA Football: Northwestern at Purdue Thomas J. Russo-USA TODAY Sports

Clayton Thorson “or” TJ Green was more than just season-opener smoke from Pat Fitzgerald. When the dust had settled in West Lafayette, both quarterbacks played significant snaps, with Green in victory formation after manufacturing a 7 minute, 57 second drive to put the game to bed. It appears that may be the case once again.

In the two-deep for the home opener, Thorson and Green are listed as the first-team quarterbacks. There are no changes to the starters on the two-deep — the only difference from last week is Trey Pugh taking Eric Eshoo’s spot as the second-string superback. Notably, Trae Williams is still listed as a starter at cornerback despite Greg Newsome II’s impressive Week 1 performance.

Again, Solomon Vault and Jalen Brown are not listed on the two-deep.

Week 2 Depth Chart

Position First Team Second Team
Position First Team Second Team
Quarterback Clayton Thorson or TJ Green Aidan Smith or Andrew Marty
Running Back Jeremy Larkin John Moten IV
X-Receiver Ben Skowronek Riley Lees
Y-Receiver Flynn Nagel Jelani Roberts
Z-Receiver Ramaud Chiaokhiao-Bowman Kyric McGowan
Superback Cameron Green Trey Pugh
Left Tackle Blake Hance Gunnar Vogel
Left Guard J.B. Butler Cam Kolwich
Center Jared Thomas Nik Urban
Right Guard Tommy Doles Sam Stovall
Right Tackle Rashawn Slater Jesse Meyler
First Team Second Team
Defensive End Joe Gaziano Earnest Brown IV
Defensive Tackle Jordan Thompson Fred Wyatt
Defensive Tackle Alex Miller Ben Oxley
Defensive End Samdup Miller Trent Goens
SAM Linebacker Nate Hall Chris Bergin
MIKE Linebacker Paddy Fisher Nathan Fox
WILL Linebacker Blake Gallagher Peter McIntyre
Cornerback Montre Hartage Alonzo Mayo
Safety Jared McGee Bryce Jackson
Safety JR Pace Joe Bergin
Cornerback Trae Williams Greg Newsome II
First Team Second Team
Placekicker Charlie Kuhbander Drew Luckenbaugh
Punter Jake Collins Cody Gronewold
Kick Returner John Moten IV Flynn Nagel
Punt Returner Riley Lees Flynn Nagel
Long Snapper Tyler Gillikin Peter Snodgrass
Holder Jake Collins TJ Green
Kickoff Specialist Charlie Kuhbander Drew Luckenbaugh