clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Lacrosse earns Big Ten individual honors

Selena Lasota, Izzy Scane, and coach Kelly Amonte Hiller all received awards.

Big Ten Lacrosse Twitter

The 2019 All-Big Ten individual honors were announced on Monday following the Big Ten Tournament this past weekend. Big Ten Tournament Champion Northwestern received three different awards: senior Selena Lasota took home Attacker of the Year, Izzy Scane earned Freshman of the Year, and head coach Kelly Amonte Hiller became Co-Coach of the Year.

Lasota’s pick as Attacker of the Year was unanimous. She leads the conference in goals per game with 5.50 and in total points with 37. She has tallied 74 goals and 15 assists this season, claiming the title of all-time goal leader for the Wildcats as well. Lasota was recently drafted into the Women’s Professional Lacrosse League, and she was named one of the 25 finalists for the 2019 Tewaaraton award (lacrosse’s equivalent to a Heisman Trophy) for the fourth time in her career.

Freshman of the Year Scane follows close behind Lasota with the second most goals per game in the conference (3.83) and the second most total points (29). Also a unanimous pick, Scane has recorded 52 goals and 15 assists for the Wildcats this season. Her standout play in her first year at Northwestern earned her Big Ten Freshman of the Week six separate times.

Amonte Hiller recieved Co-Coach of the Year, sharing the honor with Maryland head coach Cathy Reese. She led her team to a 14-4 overall record and 5-1 in conference. Behind Amonte Hiller, Northwestern beat Maryland in the Big Ten Tournament championship, something no other team was able to do this season.